Dewi-Prys Thomas Logo


The third Dewi-Prys Thomas Prize was awarded in 2009. Forty-seven nominations were received with the following being announced as part of the proceedings of the annual conference of the Royal Society of Architects in Wales (RSAW) in Cardiff on 21 November 2009:Ruthin Craft Centre

Ruthin Craft Centre, Ruthin, Denbighshire
Architect: Sergison Bates architects
Prize: silver medal and prize certificate




Ruthin Crafts Centre cafe











Sue Essex portraitCommendations:
Sue Essex
for her singular contribution to the promotion of good design in Wales
Award: prize certificate.







Book front coversThe Buildings Books Trust
for the completion of Pevsner’s seven-volume series of The Buildings of Wales
Award: prize certificate.







Short listed:
Feel Good factory, Matthewstown, Rhondda Cynon Taf
Architect: Nigel Arnold Architect.

Ty Newydd, Llanystumdwy, Gwynedd
Architect: Adam and Frances Voelcker.

Central Library, Cardiff
Architect: BDP.

Animal Wall, Century Wharf, Cardiff
Designer: Gitta Gschwendtner.

Professor Dai Smith, Chair of The Arts Council of Wales
Professor C Malcolm Parry
Jonathan Vining.

Organised by the Dewi-Prys Thomas Trust with financial assistance from Touchpaper Graphics, Cardiff, and the support of the RSAW.

Download the 2009 Dewi-Prys Thomas Prize brochure, which includes the judges’ report, here.