Dewi-Prys Thomas Logo


The second Dewi-Prys Thomas Prize was awarded in 2006 . Thirty-six nominations were received with the following being announced at the annual conference of the Royal Society of Architects in Wales (RSAW) in Cardiff on 24 November 2006:
Senedd front with awning above

The Senedd, Cardiff
Architect: Richard Rogers Partnership

Prize: silver medal and prize certificate






Senedd internal atrium









Bill Davies
for his life-time contribution to national
architectural culture
Award: prize certificate.

Centre for alternative technology - design of a wall utilising mudCentre for Alternative Technology, Machynlleth
for its pioneering work as a laboratory of sustainability for over thirty years
Award: prize certificate.

Short listed:
National Waterfront Museum, Swansea
Architect: Wilkinson Eyre Architects

Brewery Quarter, Cardiff
Architect: Powell Dobson Architects

The contribution of
Cywaith Cymru • Artworks Wales

Richard Parnaby, first chair of the Design Commission for Wales
Professor C Malcolm Parry
Jonathan Vining.

Organised by the Dewi-Prys Thomas Trust with financial assistance from Touchpaper Graphics, Cardiff, and the support of the RSAW.

Download the 2006 Dewi-Prys Thomas Prize brochure, which includes the judges’ report, here.