Dewi-Prys Thomas Logo


The fourth Dewi-Prys Thomas Prize was awarded in 2012. Fifty-two entries/nominations were received with the following being announced at the award ceremony at Ruthin Craft Centre on 30 November 2012:Ruthin Craft Centre



















Wise Building set into the hillsWinner:
WISE Building, Centre for Alternative Technology,
Architect: Pat Borer and David Lea, architects
Prize: silver medal and prize certificate







Ruthin Crafts Centre cafe











Sue Essex portraitCommendations:
Graham Brooks
for his life-time contribution to contemporary housing design in Wales
Award: prize certificate.







Book front coversThe Centre for Research in the Built Environment, Cardiff University
for its pioneering research for over thirty years in environmental design, energy efficiency of buildings and urban sustainable development
Award: prize certificate.
















Book front covers

for its extensive series of books that deal
with aspects of contemporary life in Wales
Award: prize certificate.









Short listed:
Oriel Mostyn, Llandudno
Architect: Ellis Williams Architects.

Roch Castle, near St Davids
Architect: Acanthus Holden Architects.

Archbishop McGrath Catholic High School, Bridgend
Architect: HLM Architects.

Lord Dafydd Elis-Thomas PC AM, Member of the National Assembly for Wales for the Dwyfor Meirionnydd constituency
Siân Bailey, Artist and illustrator
Rhys Llwyd Davies
Jonathan Vining

Organised by the Dewi-Prys Thomas Trust with sponsorship by TATA Steel and Manorhaus Restaurant with Rooms, and the support of Ruthin Craft Centre.

Download the 2012 Dewi-Prys Thomas Prize brochure, which includes the judges’ report, here.

Press release 2
To download the Press release which announces the winners in the Dewi-Prys Thomas Prize scheme for 2012 , please click here.

Link to BBC News Wales web page:

Invitation to awards ceremony
To download the invitation card to the award ceremony that was held on 30 November 2012, please click here.

Press Release 1
To download the Press release which contains information on the short list for the Dewi-Prys Thomas Prize 2012, please click here.

To download the postcard inviting entries for the Dewi-Prys Thomas Prize 2012, and which was available at many cultural venues throughout Wales, please click here.

Call for entries
To download the Call for entries for the Dewi-Prys Thomas Prize 2012, please click here.

Prize launchDewi Prys Thomas Launch event at the Architecture Pavilion
The Dewi-Prys Thomas Prize scheme for 2012 was launched by Lord Dafydd Elis-Thomas at the Architecture Pavilion, National Eisteddfod of Wales, Vale of Glamorgan at midday on Sunday, 5 August 2012 (see photograph). The Trust is grateful to all those who attended, and thanks to the Royal Society of Architects in Wales for the use of the pavilion and BBC Cymru/S4C for their television coverage.
To download the programme notes for the National Eisteddfod of Wales 2012, please click here.

Photograph/image credits:
Award ceremony: Rhys Llwyd Davies
WISE Building: Tim Soar
Graham Brooks
CRiBE, Welsh School of Architecture
Prize launch: Jonathan Vining