Dewi-Prys Thomas Logo


The fifth Dewi-Prys Thomas Prize was awarded in 2015. Forty-one entries/nominations were received with the following being announced at the award ceremony at Ruthin Craft Centre on 27 November 2015.Judging panel standing by the submitted works











Wise Building set into the hills

Chris Loyn
for the three houses in south Wales, as a body of work from his studio that has made the most significant contribution to Welsh architectural practice over the last three years, the influence of his buildings, his continuing advocacy of modern architecture and his commitment to nurturing young architects.
Prize: silver medal and prize certificate







Wise Building set into the hills









Wise Building set into the hills












Sue Essex portraitCommendations:
Hall + Bednarczyk Architects
for Llandegfedd visitor centre and Llandegfedd watersports centre
Award: prize certificate.







Sue Essex portrait

Harold Carter
for his profound contribution to the understanding of the urban and cultural geography of Wales
Award: prize certificate

















Sue Essex portrait

National Theatre Wales
for its imaginative contribution to the interpretation of the Welsh landscape and its buildings through the medium of theatre
Award: prize certificate



Short listed:
Blaenau Ffestiniog town centre regeneration
Miller Research, MacGregor Smith and Howard Bowcott

Galilee Chapel, St Illtyd’s Church, Llantwit Major
Architect: Davies Sutton Architects

Cardiff and Vale College Community Campus, Cardiff.
Architect: BDP Architects

Organised by the Dewi-Prys Thomas Trust with the support of Manorhaus Restaurant with Rooms, Royal Society of Architects in Wales and Ruthin Craft Centre.

Download the 2015 Dewi-Prys Thomas Prize brochure, which includes the judges’ report, please click here.

The judges for the Dewi-Prys Thomas Prize 2015 were:
Menna Richards
Simon Fenoulhet, Artist
Rhys Llwyd Davies, Trustee, The Dewi-Prys Thomas Trust
Professor Rhiannon Evans, Trustee, The Dewi-Prys Thomas Trust.

The main judging day was on 23 September 2015 and was kindly hosted by the Royal Society of Architects in Wales at The Creative Quarter, Morgan Arcade, Cardiff.

Press release 1
To download the press release, which contains information on the short list for the Dewi-Prys Thomas Prize 2015, please click here.

To download the postcard inviting entries for the Dewi-Prys Thomas Prize 2015, which will be available at many cultural venues throughout Wales, please click here.

Call for entries
To download the Call for entries for the Dewi-Prys Thomas Prize 2015, please click here.

Prize launch
The Dewi-Prys Thomas Prize scheme for 2015 was launched by Rhys Llwyd Davies and Professor C Malcolm Parry at an event in Y Lle Celf, the National Eisteddfod of Wales, Montgomeryshire and the Marches at 16:00 on Monday, 3 August 2015. The Trust is grateful to all those who attended and thanks the National Eisteddfod of Wales, Royal Society of Architects in Wales and the Design Commission for Wales for kindly allowing us to participate in the event.

Photograph/image credits:
Award ceremony: Rhys Llwyd Davies
Stormy Castle, Llanmadog: Charles Hosea
Millbrook House, Lisvane, Cardiff: Ståle Eriksen
Westra Nook, Dinas Powys: Charles Hosea
Llandegfedd visitor centre: Jonathan Vining
The Towns of Wales, dust jacket: University of Wales Press
Coriolan/us, Hangar 858, MoD St Athan, Vale of Glamorgan: Jonathan Vining
Judging session: Jonathan Vining